Municipality of Mbankomo

Mbankomo is a municipality of Cameroon located in the Central region, 25 km southwest of Yaoundé. It is also a district of the department of Méfou-et-Akono. Mbankomo is home to the Mbankomo Academic Sports Center. The municipality exists since the decree n ° 59/44 of the 17/06/1959. Spread over an area of 1,300 km², it is surrounded :
- in the north by the communes of Okola, Lobo and the city of Yaoundé, which is 22 km away;
- in the West, by the commune of Matomb;
- in the south by the communes of Ngoumou and Bikok;
- and finally to the east by the municipality of Mfou.

Mbankomo takes its name from Mount Mbankomo; a rocky hill chain stretching from Elumden to Zok-Yié via Okong, Nkomekui and Messebe. Inhabited, the site of the current Mbankomo City becomes, at the arrival of the Germans (around 1900), a place of exploitation of tobacco and sweet banana. It was only at the departure of the Germans after World War I that the Mvog Fouda and Tsoung Mballa ethnic groups settled in a progressive way. The main activity of the populations is then agriculture. It is the law N ° 59/44 of June 17th, 1959 which creates the municipality of Mbankomo. This is the mixed municipality of Djongolo Center newly created. However, the district of Mbankomo exists only from March 13, 1974. Thus, since the installation of the local populations, the Catholic Church settles in 1952. Then intervenes the creation of the primary school in 1955, the installation of the gendarmerie in 1978 of the heavy axis in 1982.

In addition to Mbankomo and its neighborhoods, the municipality includes the following villages:

. Abang
. Angala
. Angon I
. Angon II
. Angonga
. Badoumou
. Bibong Bidoum
. Bikolok Bikome I
. Binguela I
. Biyan
. Ebeba I

. Ebeba II
. Edibkombo
. Elig Essom-Mballa
. Elig Akeng
. Eloumdem I
. Eloumdem II
. Etilbibegue
. Kala
. Mbalngong
. Mbayengue I
. Mbongo

. Mefomo
. Mefou Assi
. Memvini
. Menyeng Adzap
. Messok I
. Mian
. Nden
. Nkadip
. Nkol Akono
. Nkol Ngok
. Nkol Ntsam

. Nkol Yegue I
. Nkol Yegue II
. Nkol-Menyengue
. Nkolmewouth
. Nkomekoui
. Nkong-Binguela
. Nkong Biyen
. Nkot Nkong
. Nkoumadzap
. Nomayos I
. Nomayos II

. Ntang
. Ntouessong II
. Okoa
. Okong
. Ongot
. Ossekoe
. Ossonkia
. Oveng
. Zoassel I
. Zoassel II
. Zoatoupsi


The climate of Mbankomo

The municipality of Mbankomo is influenced by the Equatorial Guinean climate at four seasons of unequal duration:

  1. a long dry season from November to mid-March;

  2. a small rainy season from mid-March to mid-June;

  3. a short dry season from mid-June to mid-August;

  4. a big rainy season from mid-August to the end of October.

The average annual rainfall is 1577mm. The average annual temperature is 25 ° C with an average annual amplitude of 2.5 ° C. This climate favors the annual driving of two cropping seasons.